» Blog Archive James McIlroy joins Belgian death metal outfit Mordkaul -
The Big Kahuna Hard Music, News, Toys

Belgian melodic death metal collective MORDKAUL just announced that James McIlroy has joined the band replacing Vincent Noben on guitar. James is best known for his time in Cradle Of Filth.

James first played on the Nymphetamine album and toured extensively for the Damnation and a Day and Nymphetamine albums, as well as appearances at the 2003 Ozzfest and Viva La Bam (2005) before leaving to pursue academia and work on other projects. In 2009, he returned for the second leg of Cradle of Filth’s European Godspeed on the Devil’s Thunder Tour as well as the album Darkly, Darkly Venus Aversa.

Next to Mordkaul, James is currently also working on music for his new band Summon The Wolves.


Mordkaul’s debut album was recorded in 2020 by Tommy Goffin (Hell City) vocals, Tim Bekaert

(Diablo Blvd, A Brand), Vincent Noben (Hell City) guitars and Adrian Erlandsson (At The Gates, exCradle Of Filth, The Haunted,…) drums. Mixing and mastering of the album was done by Dan Swano

(Opeth, Bloodbath…). Soon after the recording, Jan Rammeloo (Bliksem, Furia, Your Highness) and Tony Van den Eynde (Leng Tch’e, Saille) joined forces and Dress Code: Blood was released in January 2021 on Wormholedeath Records.

After the release, several successful and sold out shows where played to promote the debut album, ending in the summer of ‘22 with a killer and critically acclaimed performance at Alcatraz Festival (BE). After this, Mordkaul went back to the studio to record their follow up album: Feeding The Machine.

To promote the album and the individual songs to their best extent, Feeding The Machine is released in two parts. Part 1, including several video’s and singles, was released early 2023. Part 2 is due for end of 2023. Feeding The Machine – Part 1 was recorded at the end of Summer ‘22 at Project Zero studio by Yarne Heylen (Carnation). Mixing and mastering was again done by Dan Swanö.

Line up (L2R2B):
James McIlroy – Lead Guitar
Tony Van den Eynde – Drums
Tommy Goffin – Vocals
Nicholas Gauwloos – Bass
Stefan Segers – Rhythm Guitar / Backing Vocals



•       Single: A Swarm Of Illusions – 2020

•       Single: The Widow Black – 2020

•       Single: Dress Code: Blood – 2021

•       Album: Dress Code: Blood – 2021

•       Single: Lack Of Comprehension (Death cover) – 2021

•       Single: For I Am Machine – January 5th 2023

•       Single: Crown Of Worms – February 2nd 2023

•       Album: Feeding The Machine – Part 1 – February 16th 2023

•       (planned) Single: Welcome To The Sixth Stage Of Grief – June 2023

•       (planned) Album: Feeding The Machine – Part 2 – End of 2023

Website         –     https://www.mordkaul.com

Facebook      –   https://www.facebook.com/mordkaul

Instagram     –   https://www.instagram.com/mordkaul

YouTube        –       Dress Code Blood

Spotify           –       Mordkaul artist page

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email


Enter your email address: