» Blog Archive VOIVOD – To release “The End Of Dormancy” EP -
The Big Kahuna Hard Music, Movies, News

Canadian progressive sci-fi metal innovators VOIVOD reawaken and return with a 3-track 12” Vinyl and Digital EP entitled “The End Of Dormancy”, to be released on July 10th, 2020 worldwide via Century Media Records.

The EP is centered around a special “Metal Section” version of the title track “The End Of Dormancy” (Off VOIVOD’s latest album “The Wake”) with added trumpets, saxophone and trombones. The complementary tracks on this release are exclusive live versions of “The End Of Dormancy (Metal Section)” and the group’s classic “The Unknown Knows” recorded at Montreal Jazz Fest 2019.

A remarkable video-clip for “The End Of Dormancy (Metal Section)”, directed by Syl Disjonk (who previously created the clip “Kluskap O’ Kom” for VOIVOD) and produced by Igor Simonnet, is now available below…

VOIVOD’s “The End Of Dormancy” EP comes with artwork (To be seen above!) by VOIVOD drummer Michel “Away” Langevin and is available on 180g. 12” vinyl in the following highly collectible and limited editions:

Black vinyl

Light Blue vinyl – 200x copies from CM Webshop Europe

Neon Yellow vinyl – 400x copies from CM Distro

Transparent Magenta vinyl – 200x copies from Band Webshop

And here is the exact track-listing for the EP:

VOIVOD – “The End Of Dormancy” EP:

Side A:
1. The End Of Dormancy (Metal Section) [08:15]
Side B:
1. The End Of Dormancy (Live Montreal Jazz Fest 2019) [09:08]
2. The Unknown Knows (Live Montreal Jazz Fest 2019) [05:08]

The EP can be pre-ordered as of today here: https://voivodband.lnk.to/TheEndOfDormancy-EP

VOIVOD’s 14th and much praised latest studio album “The Wake”, which was recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Recording Studio, won the Juno Award for “Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year” in Canada and entered the charts upon release in 2018 as follows: Germany: # 26, Switzerland: # 51, Belgium (Wallonia): # 94, USA Current: # 97, USA New Artist: # 8, USA Overall: # 148.

Check out the following previous singles and videos off “The Wake”:
“Iconspiracy” video: https://youtu.be/hCuSHngMy-g
“Always Moving” video: https://youtu.be/SEJRfsDLFI0
“Obsolete Beings“ video: https://youtu.be/8ToK9VLJcxU

“The Wake“ can still be ordered in various editions here: https://VOIVODBand.lnk.to/TheWake

Stay connected for more VOIVOD news soon…

Snake – Vocals
Chewy – Guitar
Rocky – Bass
Away – Drums

VOIVOD online:

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email


Enter your email address: