» Blog Archive Stanisci/Kubert Premier New Variants for Foundlings -
The Big Kahuna Comic Book News, News

New York-based writer and artist John Stanisci (Batman Beyond) and buzzworthy artist Emma Kubert (Inkblot, Image Comics) have teamed together to create Foundlings, a brand new dystopian young adult comic book series in the vein of Stranger Things and The Goonies, tackling issues of abandonment among a diverse cast of children. The series follows a group of children cast aside by their families and society…until they were possibly the only ones capable of saving it. Funding exclusively on Kickstarter, and if successful, planned for a full graphic novel, Foundlings is a timely story tackling themes of global politics, ableism and more in a story that will keep readers on immersed for 28 pages.

Writer John Stanisci says “We are so excited! It’s barely two weeks into the campaign and we are already at the 70% mark! I want to thank everyone who has already supported us! We still have three weeks to go so we can’t wait for more people to discover Foundlings!”

Years in the future, a virus has been weaponized by a Russian government hell-bent on destroying America from within. This deadly new strain has been perfected to kill within 24 hours of contact, and only small groups of children carry an immunity to the effects. They are the Foundlings; a diverse group of children under the age of 16, who alone carry the hope for a possible cure, and a solution to extinction.

Artist and Co-creator Emma Kubert echoes “Thank you all so much for the support! We are almost to our goal, and we are so excited for you all to read our sci-fi adventure. Everyone can relate to Foundlings, and we are ready for you all to dive into the world!”

Foundlings centers around one very special group of kids, all who still dream of the families that long ago abandoned them, and instead find family in each other in order to survive and find a way to save the Earth from destruction. The story is inspired by The Foundlings Hospital in New York City, which is a real-life home to children, many of whom are challenged with physical and emotional issues. The story is rich with themes of empowerment and inspiration for teenagers and adults alike, in a fun adventure story that recalls some of the most beloved films and television series.

Funding exclusively through this Kickstarter campaign is a self-contained comic book story, published in a 28 page, full-color comic format, written by John Stanisci, and drawn by Emma Kubert, with three covers available. For more information on perks offered, visit the campaign page: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/punkhouse/foundlings-a-new-comic-from-john-stanisci-and-emma-kubert

Leave a Reply

RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
YouTube
Instagram
SOCIALICON

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Search

VIDEO OF THE WEEK

ADS